Preparing For Athletics Day

Earlier today room 6 were practicing for Athletics Day on November 18th with coach Bart down on the field at St Pats.

First we practiced running around the square of cones. We had to lift our right arms up then our left leg. We repeated that over and over again. We then were running on our toes and heels and running while crouching and walking with stiff arms and legs. Then after that we played a game called sheep dogs and the purpose of the game was there were two sheep dogs that had to tag us with the pool noodles and if we got tagged we had to run around the square and enter back in. Then we started the game GO! coach Bart said.  Then we ran from the  people with pool noodles. They got me first so I ran around the square and back in.

After that  coach Bart stopped the game and we moved on to the next activity racing. There was one line of small orange cones and one line of small blue cones. The coach told us to get into groups of four. In my group it was Ion, Nixcent and Wycliffe + me. Coach Bart told us to stand on the orange and blue cones, the first person in front has to step on the orange line then when the coach says on your marks they step on the blue line. He says “get set”, then  “ready” and then he said “GO!” and the person runs. I was the second Ion was first, Wycliffe was third, Nixcent was last.  So Ion went on the blue line got ready then he went. After that it was my turn I was on my mark I got ready and I ran then I remembered something. I have asthma and I forgot my inhaler. The first time I ran it was fine but the other times not so much. I drank water instead and it helped a bit .

Next it was time for jumping and we still stayed in the same spots. The coach gave us a bean bag shaped like a pig. He said to lay down feet on the blue cones and put the bean bag above your head on the ground. Then he told us to stand up and see how tall we were. When I looked at myself I was short but when he said the other words I was amazed he said “you now have to jump over the bean bag without falling over”. I thought to myself “this is my favourite activity now!!”. i jumped over it and I fell over after that jump. He said to keep your legs apart but not too much and bend your knees while swinging our arms and then it was very easy. Meanwhile the room 7’s and 8’s came to the field and waited for us to end our sport session. Then coach Bart ended the experience and we came back to class. It was really fun and remember to always try something new everyday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *