Zoo


Zoo, by Anthony Brown is a story we studied for English. What is the role of a zoo and what is the relationship between man and animals? Below is my recreation of an orangutan enclosure and a diary entry from the POV of an orangutan entering it for the first time.

 

I step into my enclosure. My soul burns up like a fire. I take one big breath. Salty cold air infiltrates my nostrils. Leaves are swaying without a care in the world. Birds are flapping their wings exploring their surroundings. My ears flip on and listen to the gusts of wind ringing through them. I feel freedom for the first time after years of isolation. Opening my mouth for a big breath of relief my mouth gasps from the cold salty air.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *